When You Feel Weary

This morning I woke up with a feeling of weariness, it seems that I’ve been going non-stop for the last three weeks constantly getting things done. During that time God has also been drawing me away in the secret place for prayer and study. It’s been an amazing fulfilling time of drawing closer to God, I’ve felt an eagerness and excitement for my times of prayer and study. But for whatever reason, this morning was different, I woke up feeling weary and un-enthusiastic…

Here’s what the enemy tried to whisper and convince me of… “You’ve been pressing hard into God lately, it’s only natural that you would feel tired after all that prayer and study. Why don’t you take a little break from that and mix things up a little bit, you can pray and study later, but right now you should rest.

I must admit that in the past I’ve fallen for that lie far too often, what seemingly ends up happening when you listen to that lie is… you get busy, that connectedness with God grows weaker, and you start turning to the things of this world for your enjoyment. Consequently, your prayer life diminishes, time reading the Bible becomes another thing to “check” of your checklist, and your intimacy with God is interrupted.

Today was different however, I reminded myself of these promises…

Psalms 16:11 Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

Psalms 23:1-3 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Isaiah 40:31 But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

This time the outcome was different, instead of looking at something else to be rejuvenated by, I looked and waited upon the Lord. He did give me strength, and showed me more of the joy that comes from following Him.

When you feel weary, do not fall for the lie that you need a “break” from your time with God. He is not the problem, He’s the solution!

This entry was posted in Weekly Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

