Surrendering Riches

Remove far from me vanity and lies: give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with food convenient for me: Lest I be full, and deny thee, and say, Who is the Lord? or lest I be poor, and steal, and take the name of my God in vain.

– Proverbs 30:8-9

This has been a scripture that I’ve known about for some time, but I couldn’t find it in me to actually pray that for myself. Do I really not want to have riches in this world? It wasn’t long ago that I had my sights set on working hard to become a millionaire. But now I look back on those thoughts and think, “how I would have lost the meaning of life in my pursuit for riches.”

When we give our lives to Christ, we must surrender our previous ambitions to the authority of Jesus Christ. For me, one of those areas he has been working on in my life has been money. Instead of looking to see how much I can save up for myself, I must say, “Jesus, all I have belongs to you, take it, and use it as you see fit.”

I look to handle and make good decisions with what God has entrusted me with, but it’s extremely important that I maintain the mindset that this is not mine, it all belongs to God, and he has entrusted me to use it as he directs. My money must be held with open hands, ready to give God as much as he wants.

How about you? How tight is your hold on money? Are you ready to let God direct where those funds go? Will you pray Proverbs 30:8-9 with me, that we may have “neither poverty nor riches,” but just enough?

“God use our money and our riches for your glory. May we not have an unhealthy grip on what you’ve entrusted us with. May we see everything we have, as yours, and not ours. Give us what we need to live whole-heartedly for you. May our value, our worth, and our confidence rest solely in you and not in posessions. We need you to work this in our lives, for this is not our natural train of thought. For your kingdom and your glory, I pray this in Jesus’ name, amen!”

This entry was posted in Weekly Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

